Parly declares 15 CCC seats vacant


SPEAKER of the National Assembly Jacob Mudenda has declared the opposition Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC)’s 15 parliamentary seats in Matabeleland as vacant following the legislators’ recall by one Sengezo Tshabangu, who claims to be the interim party’s secretary-general.


Tshabangu recalled the 15 CCC legislators and 17 councillors from Bulawayo Metropolitan, Matabeleland North and South provinces, claiming they had ceased to be members of the party.

Mudenda confirmed the recalls in letters dated October 4 and 6, 2023 and addressed to Zimbabwe Electoral Commission chief elections officer Utloile Silaigwana.


“I hereby notify you, in terms of section 39(1) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2: 13], that a vacancy now exists in the membership of Parliament, by reason of Hon Ereck Gono, who was elected Member of Parliament for Lobengula-Magwegwe constituency, having ceased to belong to the Citizens Coalition for Change on 04 October 2023,” Mudenda said in one of the letters.

The other recalled MPs are Nicola Jane Watson (Bulawayo South), Prince Dubeko Sibanda (Binga North), Febion Munyaradzi Kufahakutizwi (Mabvuku-Tafara), Bright Moyo Vanya (Lupane East), Desmond Makaza (Mpopoma-Mzilikazi), Obert Manduna (Nketa) and Morgan Ncube (Beitbridge West).


There is also Pashor Raphael Sibanda (Cowdray Park), Evidence Zana (youth representation), Janeth Dube (proportional representation), Sitabile Mlilo (proportional representation), Nomathemba Sibanda (proportional representation), Jasmine Toffa (proportional representation) and Velisiwe Nkomo (proportional representation).

“The recalls are illegal. They are unlawful and show Zanu PF’s determination to undermine and subvert the will of the people of Zimbabwe. They are raising the stakes and we will not allow them to take this route again. The stakes are already high, they are raising them to another level.”