Zanu PF member recalls 70 party MPs


ZIMBABWE’s political circus has taken an intriguing turn with a Zanu PF member writing to Speaker of the National Assembly Jacob Mudenda seeking to recall 70 MPs.


The latest developments came shortly after the opposition CCC suffered a similar fate and had its 15 MPs and 17 councillors recalled on the strength of a letter written to Parliament by Sebenzo Tshabangu who claims to be the party’s interim secretary-general.

Mudenda, who doubles as a Zanu PF politburo member, immediately effected the recalls despite protests from the CCC disowning Tshabangu.

In the Zanu PF case, on October 12 2023 Mudenda received a letter from Tafadzwa Manyika who claims to be the Zanu PF’s interim secretary-general advising that the affected 70 legislators had ceased to be party members. Zanu PF does not have the position of secretary-general.

When NewsDay reached out to Mudenda for a comment, he curtly said: “I am not commenting on that.”


Zanu PF spokesperson Christopher Mutsvangwa could not be reached for comment.

The targeted Zanu PF legislators include Chirumanzu South MP Barbara Rwodzi, July Moyo (Redcliff), Vangelis Peter Haritatos (Muzvezve), Farai Jere (Murehwa West), Winston Chitando (Gutu Central), Tongai Mafidi Mnangagwa (Hunyani), Jenfan Muswere (Makoni West), Polite Kambamura (Sanyati), Owen Ncube (Gokwe Kana), Paul Mavhima (Gokwe Sengwa), among others.